Queensland dominant at 2017 AMC
Date of Event : Mon May 29, 2017 2:30PM

Four Australian teams have been named for the 2017 Trans-Tasman Masters in New Zealand, following the conclusion of the 2017 Australian Indoor Masters Championships in Canberra.
Queensland were the dominant state at the national carnival, reaching all four division grand finals and winning three.
The men in maroon claimed the 35 & Over Men, 40 & Over Men and 50 & Over Men division championships, with New South Wales edging them out in the 45 & Over division title.
Twelve players from each division have been selected in an Australian team, to compete against New Zealand in Tauranga in October.
“The Australian Masters Championships is an important part of the player pathway, and it was great to see such a high standard of cricket and camaraderie on show throughout the week," Cricket Australia Indoor Cricket Manager Briana Binch said.
“Canberra provided a fantastic venue for the Championships, and we thank everyone who made this year’s tournament a success, including the players, officials, centre and staff.
“We have selected four strong sides who will represent Australia later this year against New Zealand on their home turf in the Masters Trans-Tasman Series. Our four men’s masters sides all won world championships in England last year, and we hope that success on the international stage can continue."
Queensland and New South Wales are the best-represented states in the national squads.
Seventeen Queenslanders feature, including 35 & Over Men’s Player of the Series Brandon Kleidon, 45 & Over Men’s Player of the Series Robbie Cockerell and 50 & Over Men’s Player of the Series Barry Morrison.
ACT’s Alex Kwong was named as Player of the Series in the 40 & Over Men’s Player of the Series.
New South Wales has 14 players across the four squads, including 45 & Over Men’s Player of the Final Craig Bayldon.
In the four Grand Finals, the closest contest was in the 50 & Over Men’s division, as Queensland won 83 to 72 against New South Wales.
John Short was named Player of the Final in a losing cause, collecting four wickets and scoring 11 runs.
In the 45 & Over Men’s division, New South Wales accounted for Queensland by 41 runs, 124 to 83.
Bayldon contributed a match-high 26 runs, as New South Wales produced an imposing target due to three 30-plus run partnerships.
Queensland overcame ACT by 56 runs, 118 to 62, in the 40 & Over Men’s final, with 29 runs seeing Matt Jenkins win the Player of the Final award. In the 35 & Over Men’s division, Queensland won all four skins against New South Wales on their way to a 106-61 win, with Tony Ashworth named Player of the Final for his 21 runs and three wickets.
Replays of the live-streamed finals and full statistics are available via


35 & Over Men
Australian Team:
Jon Harris (ACT), Matt Holwell, Barry Richards, Daniel Taylor, Craig White, Liam Zammit (NSW), Paul Bathman, Craig Cumming, Tony Hall, Brendan Kleidon, Luke Waters (QLD), Rodney Bird (VIC). Coach: Kevin Ala-Outinen. Manager: David McKay.
Champions: Queensland
Player of the Series: Brandon Kleidon (QLD)
Player of the Final: Tony Ashworth (QLD)


40 & Over Men
Australian Team: Billy Floros, Jason Hays, Brad Morgan, Nathan Rennie (ACT), Gavin Maher (NSW), Brenton Brien, Lee Cussen, Stewart James, Daniel Lake, Kerry Stewart, Eric Peterson (QLD), Dale Christie (VIC). Coach: Rod Jenkins. Manager: Adele Wood.
Champions: Queensland
Player of the Series: Alex Kwong (ACT)
Player of the Final: Matt Jenkins (QLD)


45 & Over Men
Australian Team: Marty Bennett, Rodney May (ACT), Peter Bastow, Craig Bayldon, Michael Goeke, Jason Hardy, Stephen Simons (NSW), Robbie Cockerell, Troy Pitt (QLD), Alex Jesenek (VIC), Craig McSweeney, Brett Williams (WA). Coach: Peter Leerson. Manager: John McLochlan.
Champions: New South Wales
Player of the Series: Robbie Cockerell (QLD)
Player of the Final: Craig Bayldon (NSW)


50 & Over Men
Australian Team: Ted Hempstead, Chris Henry (ACT), John Adamson, Mark Butler, John Short (NSW), Shawn Frerichs, Lee Morphew, Barry Morrison, Jamie Seymour (QLD), Mal Challen (SA), Tony Plose (VIC), John Trela (WA). Coach: Billy Oches. Manager: Sam Bright.
Champions: Queensland
Player of the Series: Barry Morrison (QLD)
Player of the Final: John Short (NSW)


Last updated: Tuesday July 4, 2017 5:17PM