International Player of the Year Announced
Date of Event : Wed Jan 17, 2018 12:23PM
Award winners Jude Coleman (L) and Matthew Floros (R) // Getty Images

The Cricket Australia Indoor Cricket International Player of the Year is awarded annually to the best Australian men’s and women’s indoor cricketers, making this the highest individual honour within the sport.


Matthew Floros from the Australian Capital Territory, and Jude Coleman from Queensland, were the respective men’s and women’s award winners, which were presented during the innings break of the first Gillette One-Day International Series match between Australia and England at the MCG on Sunday.


The International Player of the Year award is calculated on a 3, 2, 1 basis with both the Australian team head coach and umpire’s votes being awarded at the conclusion of each International match.




Coleman captained Australia to their ninth consecutive Indoor Cricket World Cup title, while Floros was a key member in the men’s tenth consecutive Indoor Cricket World Cup win.

Now the longest serving elite female player within the sport, Coleman has represented the Australian women’s indoor cricket team since 2002.

Coleman has played in seven World Cup wins and has led the squad as captain on five of these occasions.

Floros was born and raised in Canberra, with his family owning an indoor sports centre in Weston.

Cricket runs in the blood of the Floros family, with younger brothers Benji and Timmy representing Australia alongside Floros at the Indoor Cricket World Cup.

Jason Floros, the eldest of the siblings, is currently part of the Brisbane Heat squad in the KFC Big Bash League.

Australia won all four divisions at the 2017 World Indoor Cricket Federation World Cup in Dubai UAE, which included the Open age and 21-and-under age divisions.

The Australian men’s and women’s indoor cricket teams will tour Sri Lanka later this year to play against a host of nations in the lead up to the 2020 Indoor Cricket World Cup.

Last updated: Wednesday May 30, 2018 2:33PM
Author: Vanessa Lewicki