Sides claim victory at 2018 ICNC
Date of Event Cricket Australia (Indoor): Sun Jul 8, 2018 1:47PM
Matthew Floros (left) of the Australian Capital Territory and Briony Polkinghorne (right) of Victoria were crowned as the most valuable players in their respective divisions.


Australia’s top indoor cricket states and territories have claimed victory at the 2018 Indoor Cricket National Championships, and four Australian squads have been selected to compete at the 2018 Australasia Cup in Sri Lanka.

The 2018 Indoor Cricket National Championships concluded in Toowoombaon Saturday, with national titles claimed across the five Open divisions, and teams named to represent Australia at Open Men’s, Open Women’s, 21 & Under Men’s and 21 & Under Women’s level.

In the Open Men’s Division, the ACT edged out Victoria by 20 runs in the final, 66 to 46.


ACT’s Brock Winkler was named Player of the Final for the second consecutive year and his teammate Matthew Floros was announced player of the series.

Queensland claimed three titles - the Lord’s Taverners Shield, 21 & Under Men’s and Open Women’s.

Player of the Final Samantha Dixon scored 14 runs and claimed three wickets, as Queensland’s Open Women defeated South Australia 106 to 55. Briony Polkinghorne of Victoria was announced player of the series.

It was a final ball thriller for Queensland’s 21 & Under Men, who defeated South Australia Black 108 to 107.

In the 21 & Under Women’s Division, the sides were separated by only one run, with South Australia edging out the hosts Queensland 95-94

Queensland recorded a comprehensive victory in the Lord’s Taverners Shield for indoor cricketers with an intellectual disability, defeating reigning champions South Australia 101-47.

For full match results and replays of each division final, visit

Champions & Award Winners

Open Men’s
Final: ACT 66 def VIC 46
Alan Wilson Medal (Player of the Series): Matthew Floros (ACT)
Player of the Final: Brock Winkler (ACT)

Open Women’s
Final: Queensland 106 def South Australia 55
Monika Brogan Medal (Player of the Series): Briony Polkinghorne (VIC)
Player of the Final: Samantha Dixon (QLD)

21 & Under Men’s
Final: Queensland 108 def South Australia Black 107
Player of the Series: Cameron Bullard (SA Black)
Player of the Final: Hamish Chapman (QLD)

21 & Under Women’s
Final: South Australia 95 def Queensland 94
Player of the Series: Febi Mansell (QLD)
Player of the Final: Sarah Ferris (SA)

Lord’s Taverners Shield
Final: Queensland 101 def South Australia 47
Player of the Series: Haydn Brumm (QLD)
Player of the Final: Brett Wilson (QLD)

Indoor Cricket Hall of Fame Inductee: Greg Mathews (Western Australia)


Australian Squads

Australian Men’s: Lyle Teske © (QLD), Matthew Floros (ACT), Rob Fitzgerald (QLD), Tim Floros (ACT), Jarrod Armitage (VIC), Luke Ryan (ACT), Rhys Dearness (QLD), Benji Floros (ACT), Justin Perkins (VIC), Ryan Dowse (QLD), Brock Winkler (ACT), Ash Paddison (NSW).


Coach: Brenton Brien (QLD)
Manager: Grant Macquarrie (QLD)

Australian Women’s: Nicole Martin (VIC), Briony Polkinghorne (VIC), Ashleigh Doble (QLD), Dulane Carson (QLD), Neisha Iles (SA), Rachel Baines (WA), Adelaide Campion (VIC), Elizabeth Hall (SA), Samantha Dixon (QLD), Kylie Rattray (SA), Laura Shaw (VIC), Elly Donald (VIC).


Coach: Wendy Kemp (QLD)
Manager: Maleah Harris (QLD).

21 & Under Men’s: Josh Fontana (WA), Alexander Floros (ACT), Tristan Hoarau (QLD), Zach Schwarz (SA), Callum Wiggers (WA), Stuart Brigden (ACT), Jackson Hannon (QLD), Brad Thomas (ACT), Kai Hickey (WA), Jeremy Crighton (QLD), Tyler Hays (ACT), Hamish Chapman (QLD).


Coach: Rob Boiston (QLD)
Manager: Sam Bright (VIC)

21 & Under Women’s: Madeleine Wright (VIC), Amy Riddell (NSW), Ainslee Knight (SA), Alexandra Weeks (QLD), Amy Jennings (VIC), Samantha Arnold (NSW), Christina Coulson (QLD), Ella Baulch (VIC), Zoe Griffiths (VIC), Lauren Nicholson (WA), Tarlee Meaney (SA), Taylah Gregory (SA).


Coach: Cindy Kross (WA)
Manager: Tommy Holt (VIC)


The completion of the Open's divisions sees the commencement of the junior divisions at Action Indoor Sports Centre in Toowoomba. More to come. 


Last updated: Monday July 16, 2018 9:38AM